Monday, November 4, 2013

Indie Memphis: That's a Wrap

Posted By on Mon, Nov 4, 2013 at 10:00 AM

Best Narrative Feature Award winner It Felt Like Love
  • Best Narrative Feature Award winner "It Felt Like Love"
Another Indie Memphis film festival is wrapped up and put back in the attic until next year — though the organization has extensive year-round programming.

Last night, to close out the festivities, Indie Memphis gave out awards for the best of the fest. Winners are listed below. Many of the awards included cash prizes, and they all received a lovely trophy designed by Memphis artist Yvonne Bobo.

Best Narrative Feature Award ($1,000 cash prize)
It Felt Like Love (director: Eliza Hittman)

Duncan-Williams Scriptwriting Award ($1,000 cash prize presented by Duncan-Williams, Inc.)
See You Next Tuesday (writer/director: Drew Tobia)

Hometowner Award, Narrative Feature ($1,000 cash prize presented by the Memphis & Shelby County Film and Television Commission)
Being Awesome (director: Allen C. Gardner)

Hometowner Award, Narrative Short ($500 cash prize presented by the Memphis & Shelby County Film and Television Commission)
John's Farm (director: Melissa Sweazy

Hometowner Award, Documentary Short ($500 cash prize presented by the Memphis & Shelby County Film and Television Commission)
Bookin' (director: John Kirkscey

Jury Award, Documentary Feature ($1,000 cash prize presented by Classic American Hardwoods)
Brother's Hypnotic (director: Reuben Atlas)

What I Love About Concrete filmmakers
  • "What I Love About Concrete" filmmakers
Jury Award, Documentary Short ($500 cash prize)
Sweet Crude Man Camp (director: Isaac Gale)

Jury Award, Narrative Short ($500 cash prize)
Aftermath (director: Jeremy Robbins)

Jury Award, Animated/Experimental Film
The Missing Scarf (director: Eoin Duffy)

Special Jury Award, The Emerging Artist Award for the creative promise shown by their debut feature
Directors Katherine Dohan and Alanna Stewart, What I Love About Concrete

Special Jury Award, Outstanding Performance
Eleanore Pienta, See You Next Tuesday

Special Jury Award
Great Chicken Wing Hunt (director: Matt Reynolds)

Audience Award, Narrative Feature
Short Term 12 (director: Destin Cretton)

Special Jury Awards
How to Sharpen Pencils (director: Kenneth Price) and Ms. Belvedere (director: Michael Reynolds)

Movie poster for Zipper: Coney Islands Last Wild Ride
  • Movie poster for "Zipper: Coney Island's Last Wild Ride"
Soul of Southern Film Award
Orange Mound, Tennessee: America's Community (director, Emmanuel Amido)

Craig Brewer Emerging Filmmaker Award
Randy Moore, Escape from Tomorrow

Governor's Award
Indie Memphis Executive Director Erik Jambor

Ron Tibbett Excellence in Filmmaking Award
Bob Birdnow's Remarkable Tale of Human Survival and the Transcendence of Self (director: Eric Steele)

AIGA Movie Poster Award
Zipper: Coney Island's Last Wild Ride (director: Amy Nicholson)

Audience Award, Documentary Feature
A Whole Lott More (director: Victor Buhler)

Audience Award, Hometowner Film
Meanwhile in Memphis: The Sound of a Revolution (directors: Nan Hackman and Robert Allen Parker)

Audience Award, Documentary Short
Mabon "Teenie" Hodges - A Portrait of a Memphis Soul Original (director: Susanna Vapnek)

Audience Award, Narrative Short
Cootie Contagion (director: Joshua Smooha)

Keep the Flyer Free!

Always independent, always free (never a paywall),
the Memphis Flyer is your source for the best in local news and information.

Now we want to expand and enhance our work.
That's why we're asking you to join us as a Frequent Flyer member.

You'll get membership perks (find out more about those here) and help us continue to deliver the independent journalism you've come to expect.



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

© 1996-2019

Contemporary Media
460 Tennessee Street, 2nd Floor | Memphis, TN 38103
Visit our other sites: Memphis Magazine | Memphis Parent | Inside Memphis Business
Powered by Foundation