Monday, December 24, 2007

Nominees for Blues Music Awards Announced

Posted By on Mon, Dec 24, 2007 at 4:00 AM

The nominees for the 29th annual Blues Music Awards, presented by the Memphis-based Blues Foundation, are out, with Bobby Rush, Watermelon Slim, and Bettye LaVette leading the way. All three are nominated for the B.B. King Entertainer of the Year award, as well as album of the year for LaVette's The Scene of the Crime and Watermelon Slim & the Workers' The Wheel Man and acoustic album of the year for Rush's Raw. Additionally, Rush is up for acoustic artist of the year and soul-blues male artist of the year; LaVette is up for contemporary-blues female artist of the year; and Slim is up for band of the year, contemporary blues album of the year, contemporary-blues male artist of the year, and song of the year for "The Wheel Man."

More Flyer music coverage.

Tags: , ,


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

© 1996-2017

Contemporary Media
460 Tennessee Street, 2nd Floor | Memphis, TN 38103
Visit our other sites: Memphis Magazine | Memphis Parent | Inside Memphis Business
Powered by Foundation