Democratic Lawyers for Justice Ballot 

To the Voters of Shelby County:

The upcoming election, Tuesday, August 3rd is extremely important. The ballot is the longest in history. Voters will not only be choosing their county Mayor, Sheriff, District Attorney, nominees for the Senate, and Governor, but making selections in over 20 contested judicial races. We encourage you to not only vote, but also vote in all the races on the ballot, particularly the judicial races. These Judges that are elected August 3rd will serve for the next eight years. We encourage you to try and make informed decisions in your judicial selections.

Democratic Lawyers for Justice is a group of democratic lawyers who practice in the courts and know who the good judges are. We need Judges who are fair, competent and have a good work ethic. We need Judges who respect the law and the people they are called upon to judge. Not every lawyer who is a member of Democratic Lawyers for Justice necessarily supports every one of the endorsed judicial candidates, but the endorsements represent a strong consensus. Please study the ballot and make an effort to not only vote but to vote in all the races. This year, early voting starts July 14th at all satellite-polling locations.


Mike Cody, A C Wharton, Jr.

Democratic Lawyers for Justice Ballot
Vote to keep high standards for justice in Shelby County

James F. Russell
Circuit Court, Div. 2

Jerry Stokes
Circuit Court, Div. 6

D'Army Bailey
Circuit Court, Div. 8

Arnold Goldin
Chancellor, Part 2

Janet Lansky Shipman
Criminal Court, Div. 7

Mark Ward
Criminal Court, Div 9

John Donald
General Sessions, Div. 3

Regina M. Newman
General Sessions, Div. 4

Kenny Armstrong
Chancellor, Part 3

Paula Skahan
Criminal Court, Div. 1

Carolyn Wade Blackett
Criminal Court, Div. 4

Dewun R. Settle
Criminal Court, Div. 5

Betty Thomas Moore
General Sessions, Div. 5

Ann Pugh
General Sessions, Div. 7

Mischelle A. Best
General Sessions, Div. 11

Gwen Rooks
General Sessions, Div. 12

Louis J. Montesi, Jr.
General Sessions, Div. 13

Veronica Coleman
Juvenile Court

Donn Southern
Probate Court, Div.

Paid for by Democratic Lawyers for Justice PAC
Leslie Ballin
Nathan Bicks
David Cocke
Robert A Cox
Don A Donati
Greg Duckett
Trey Jordan
Bruce Kramer
Bruce A McMullen
Junaid Odubeko
Karl Schledwitz
Jim Strickland
Dale Tuttle, Treasurer
Democratic Lawyers for Justice
Judicial Ballot
Election Day is Aug. 3rd
Early Voting begins July 14th


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

    • Luttrell’s Triple Whammy

      County mayor’s composure wears thin after commission action (and inaction) on a triad of issues.
    • Scrum for Corker’s Seat?

      With gubernatorial field remaining static, speculation turns to U.S. Senate prospects; Shelby Dems about to reorganize.


Music Blog

WYPL brings you the Memphis Sound

News Blog

Tennessee Breaks Record for Student Aid Requests

News Blog

MLGW's Water Test Comes Back Clean

Fly On The Wall Blog

RDC Announces Plan to Raise Atlantis

News Blog

New Vision Unveiled for Riverfront

News Blog

Memphis Pets of the Week (July 20-26)

Music Blog

The Secret Service rides again


More by various

Readers also liked…

  • Filling the Space

    For all the in-fighting, we’re all looking for the same thing, and sometimes we can realize it.
    • Jul 14, 2016
  • Jill Stein in Memphis

    An impressive turnout for Green Party presidential nominee at Amurica.
    • Oct 6, 2016
  • Wellspring Politics in Memphis

    With a crucial deadline approaching next week, the local “Protect the Aquifier” movement picks up steam.
    • Nov 24, 2016
© 1996-2017

Contemporary Media
460 Tennessee Street, 2nd Floor | Memphis, TN 38103
Visit our other sites: Memphis Magazine | Memphis Parent | Inside Memphis Business
Powered by Foundation