Thursday, September 3, 2009

Who's on First? 28 People, Maybe 29 File for Mayor

Posted By on Thu, Sep 3, 2009 at 8:44 PM

Knock knock! Who’s there? Awgo. Awgo who? …Actually, it’s Awgowhat. That’s the last name of Leo Awgowhat, one of the lesser known of some 28 candidates for Memphis mayor whose filed petitions were adjudged complete and legitimate as of Thursday’s filing deadline of 12 noon at the Shelby County Election Commission.

Also knocking at the door of civic leadership was Vuong Vaughn Vo, for those voters attracted by alliteration. . And as a gift to those for whom repetition does the trick, there are both Kenneth T. Baroff and Kenneth Baroff, unless — as appears likely — the two Baroffs are actually the same man, named twice in the list of approved candidates by accident.

And yes, of course, the list includes the name of John Willingham . Can there be an election in Shelby County without the participation of the perennial mayoral candidate, who has at least one victory to his credit, having served as a Shelby County commissioner from 2002 to 2006? Evidently not.

There are some other well-known names in the list — including all nine of the candidates who took part in last week’s first televised mayoral debate on WMC-TV, Action News 5: power lawyer Charles Carpenter, former councilwoman Carol Chumney, councilwoman Wanda Halbert, street clown Robert “Prince Mongo” Hodges, professional wrestler and commentator Jerry Lawler, Memphis mayor pro tem Myron Lowery, Memphis school board members Sharon Webb and Kenneth Whalum Jr., and Shelby County Mayor A C Wharton.

Other well-known people in the list are city councilman Joe Brown, former councilman E.C. Jones, and restaurateur Thomas "Silky" Sullivan.

The complete list of successfully filed mayoral candidates, listed alphabetically, is:

Leo Awgowhat
Kenneth T. Baroff
Joe Brown
Randy Cagle
Charles Carpenter
Carol Chumney
Dewey Clark
James Clingan
Menelik Fombi,
Wanda Halbert
Johnny Hatcher
Robert "Prince Mongo" Hodges
Constance Houston
Dewayne Jones
E.C. Jones
Jerry Lawler
Myron Lowery
Ernest Lunati
Harrel C. Moore
Mary T. Shelby-Wright
Detric Stigall
Thomas "Silky" Sullivan.
David Vinciarelli
Vuong Vaughn Vo
Sharon Webb
Kenneth Whalum Jr
A C Wharton
John Willingham

Withdrawal deadline is 12 noon, Thursday, September 10th. We'll see how many of the above stick it out.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

    • Touliatos Announces for Shelby County Mayor

      Entry of Juvenile Court clerk creates prospect of three-way GOP primary race with County Commissioner Terry Roland and County Trustee David Lenoir.
    • Reginald Milton's Birthday Surprise

      The first-term Shelby County Commissioner did indeed have a "major announcement" to make to a generous number of attendees.

Speaking of School Consolidation


Readers also liked…

  • Cohen Tells It!

    In which Memphis’ Democratic congressman Steve Cohen, addressing an apparent GOP effort to muddy the waters on the Russian inquiry, not only takes no crap but gives it back where it came from. This is worth watching from beginning to end -- even for those who might disagree on the politics of the matter.
    • Jul 26, 2017
  • Another Big Shoe Drops with Lane's Entry in Sheriff's Race

    County Homeland Security director holds kickoff rally in Millington; considered major contender for GOP nomination.
    • Sep 13, 2017
  • Super Tuesday Results: (Almost) All Have Won, But Nobody Yet Has the Prize (UPDATED)

    The rivals of Republican candidate Donald Trump and Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton would certainly be willing to trade places with those two, however.
    • Mar 2, 2016

Most Commented On

© 1996-2017

Contemporary Media
460 Tennessee Street, 2nd Floor | Memphis, TN 38103
Visit our other sites: Memphis Magazine | Memphis Parent | Inside Memphis Business
Powered by Foundation